Well over 10 years ago I learned of the so called Four stages of competence.

In short, these four stages identify the progression of skill adoption:

Someone with Unconscious Incompetence doesn’t even know that they don’t know.

Someone who is Consciously Incompetent has some idea of what he doesn’t know.

Someone who is Consciously Competent can get the job done, but has to work at it.

Someone is is Unconsciously Competent does’t have to think about the mechanics and can just get on with the job.

Over on DevThought is a good blog entry “The four stages of programming competence” summarizing how these stages might apply to programming. Worth reading.


blog comments powered by Disqus
Next Post
When to use Var  26 Mar 2009
Prior Post
Unscary Code  19 Mar 2009
Related Posts
A bash puzzle, solved  02 Jul 2022
A bash puzzle  25 Jun 2022
Improve your troubleshooting by aggregating errors  11 Jun 2022
Improve your troubleshooting by wrapping errors  28 May 2022
Keep your promises  14 May 2022
When are you done?  18 Apr 2022
Fixing GitHub Authentication  28 Nov 2021
Sharpen The Saw - August 2021  31 Jul 2021
Gesticulation Driven Development (GDD)  24 Jul 2021
Magpie Driven Development (MDD)  10 Jul 2021
March 2009